It’s Friday

Finally, another Friday. I’ve never been a TGIF person, but my situation here in Sumbawa has led me to focus on Fridays as the goal for the week. Why? It’s one week finished in this rapidly disintegrating school, and one more week closer to getting back home and out of here.

Over the years, I’ve had many different jobs: some of them I loved, some of them I liked, some of them I disliked. I’ve only had one job before this one that I really despised. This school is the poster child for dysfunctional schools. Leaders that show up on the clock instead of early to inspire and check out the troops; a board that is incompetent and has no idea of what education should be; teachers that are demoralized and unsure of where their place in the future of the school is; a lack of vision when vision is sorely needed.

Well, I could go on, but this school will be just a bad memory in a few months.

I have a few days to work on tweeking the school blogs so that they are more user friendly, and I have the weekend to work on finishing my book about international education, which will be on sale soon here and on my other blogs and websites.

Who says life in the tropics is always fun?

~ by drbrucepk on October 16, 2009.

4 Responses to “It’s Friday”

  1. That doesnt sound so fun.

  2. No, it’s been a pain, but it’s almost over.

  3. Bruce good comments. My regards and take care from Pak Graeme an old Yoyo’s neighbour

  4. Thanks Graeme. It is a special place there in Sumbawa.

Leave a comment