Time for Another Retiring in Bali Blog

I probably get about ten emails a month asking for information on moving to Bali. Some of them are from people who want to work here, and I can only offer limited advice for those folks unless they’re teachers, and even then the advice is pretty much tempered by my own peculiarities such as – I won’t work for a language school that pays pennies and offers poor conditions just so that I can live in Bali. I’d much rather live in Kazakhstan and get paid well. Actually, I’d like to try living in Kazakhstan now that I think about it.

Then, too, some folks have girlfriends who have just the right place for them and they want some advice. That’s a minefield that I don’t want to enter. Been there and done that and screwed up – so I don’t comment on people’s relationships and offer advice from far although I know that there are websites and forums that will.

Now that I’ve written a bit on retiring, I get quite a few requests from folks – usually guys but sometimes women – who want to retire to Bali, and I try to answer those as best as I can but then again, my own situation is fairly specific – an Indonesian wife, a bunch of kids, and a long history in Indonesia so writing a general answer to a question like, “I want to retire to Bali and live simply. How much does it take?” is pretty tough.

What you see below is where I am now in my replies to those folks. I’ll take any advice on what else I might say.

I’m not sure how much Bali is Paradise – you might want to take a look at a few of my articles on Hubpages about Paradise. But one man’s Paradise is another man’s desert or something like that.

Questions about how much money one needs to retire are pretty subjective. There are questions about the number of people that you’ll be supporting, where you want to live, what kind of food can you eat (and still enjoy it), what kinds of entertainment do you like and need, how much do you drink (and what do you drink), what kind of living arrangements do you need in terms of basic amenities (bathrooms being one of the most frequently cited questions), how often you’ll want to go back to the States, medical issues/insurance, and a few more things that will pop up. Can you be a little more specific about your lifestyle?

So, what else do I say? I put some numbers up months ago about the budget that I had planned out for retirement, but the closer I get to the final day of work, the less likely it seems that I’m going to meet those numbers. Still, there are times that you just need to take a leap of faith and see how things turn out. And that’s about it. Live long and prosper.

~ by drbrucepk on February 25, 2008.

10 Responses to “Time for Another Retiring in Bali Blog”

  1. Retirement and Good Living selected Bali as a top retirement location for 2013 at http://retirementandgoodliving.com/best-retirement-locations-abroad-2013/

  2. That Halloween, right after she turned four, she told the story over
    and over, to anyone who would listen, delighting in making them jump when she yelled the
    spooky ending. These are reaching thousands of people at a time who recognize the self help benefits and pass them on to friends who do the same and they become viral.
    Remember fall in love poems should say the exact thing you feel without hesitation and fear
    of being embarrassed, either you write fall in love poems yourself or choose from the famous fall in love poems.

  3. In the four tournaments since his first of the season, he.

    If you don’t have much skill in programming, but still think that creating and
    developing games is the most suitable for you, there are special courses that will give you training in
    graphic designing, game development, and computer animation.
    People are now looking to be able to connect to things like their vehicles through their smart phones,
    and now Buick has announced the release of their new e
    – Assist Fuel Effeciency smartphone games.

  4. Funny Or Die separates itself from other funny video clip hosting sites by
    the way it lets people rank the videos, get enough funny votes and the video will be immortalized get enough
    die votes and the video will be sent into the “crypt”. I think what
    corporate America has forgotten is that the airwaves are public.
    This powerful and versatile solution is also available
    in three different versions, so you should have no trouble finding the perfect one for you.

  5. As the medium is not limited to any particular geographical or demographic region,
    advertising on internet radio would give the business an international audience base.
    As an Internet broadcaster, it is high time that you pick on these available
    opportunities and add that $ilver sheen to your broadcasting happiness.
    With 75 plus musical channels on the bandwidth, you
    cannot stay out of music in any point of time.

  6. s better to use whole foods made from scratch for good health.

    Vitamin B3 or also called as Niacin is important in
    weight loss because it is responsible for the regulation of thyroid hormones and also in
    sugar levels in the body. Hence, broccoli is a must-add ingredient in your vegetarian weight
    loss diet.

  7. I have interviewed a few parents to attempt to understand what their true objection is with their child playing video games.
    By obtaining increasingly more favour using their company
    people in your social settings, the more handle you will need to acquire what you would like, and thru The particular
    Coalition Game you have just about the most effective tips
    for hypnotherapy that gives you the talent to ensure that
    you influence other folks. Moreover, there you could also play Scrabble in the internet, TV game shows or game consoles.

  8. If, at the end of this time period, the score is tied, there are two options the officials can take.
    If you are unable to sign in to Game Center or are
    having problems staying connected:. The nature of Reddit’s platform makes it possible — through great and creative effort, it appears — to give users a gift of the unexpected, rather than deriving humor from humiliation.

  9. I wanted to tell you that I often visit this blog via my I phone, when I’m on the way to work, and it is one of the very few
    blogs that are legible on cell phones, and without squinting your eyes.

  10. I’m visiting this particular blog for awhile
    now and it always delivers. I hope to see more posts like your previous one.

Leave a Reply

 
