An Unusual Term at School

We are now entering the seventh week of the first term of the 2009-2010 academic year. The school is clearly not an international school any more; it may be a national plus school, but it’s still seeking some direction as it meanders through its second year of existence.

Our expat population is down to somewhere around 20 from a high of 70 a few years ago. The expat elementary principal just left for Australia as she resigned after 10 years at the school. She took her two children with her, both of whom were my students.

Out of the first six weeks of the term, I’ve actually only taught about three weeks. We’ve had three three-day weekends this term, plus I missed six days due to a minor stroke, and then almost a week due to a bad case of the flu that has been going around the community.

Tomorrow, I start my third position in the 8 months that I have been working at this school. I’ll be teaching math, social studies, art, and library for 3 expats, and English for 12 expats and Indonesians together. Plus, I do 6th grade homeroom twice a day.

Then there is the tech stuff, but I’ll leave that for another day.
RelojDespertador
Only 14 weeks to go before the next retirement.

~ by drbrucepk on August 24, 2009.

One Response to “An Unusual Term at School”

  1. Bruce – I’ll be back in Bali for a month in November. This time my wife and I will stay with our Bali daughter at her new home in Kerobokan with no internet connection. Her niece says the answer is for me to get a modem for my laptop and buy connection time. Any idea on connection speeds? Any time we’ve been in Bali before, I’ve used wireless at the hotels or gone to an internet cafe. Thanks for any tips. -Sam

Leave a Reply

 
