Another Lovely Day in Paradise

I started writing a new post yesterday, but got sidetracked by my first attempt at using stop motion technology. It turned out not too bad, and I posted it on YouTube. I tried catching the sunrise today, but for some reason the camera stopped. Here’s the video.

So, a few days ago, I took my new bike out for a ride to the west to get comfortable with the new gear pattern, the new seat, and sitting higher up than I’m used to. I quickly got the gear pattern down, but the seat is less comfortable than my old Kharisma, but it should be ok for the two to three hour drives that I will be doing on my way back to Sumbawa next month. I love the extra power for quick acceleration that you often need in Indonesia to get out of some of the bizarre situations that drivers often encounter.

Yamaha Vixion

Yamaha Vixion


I mentioned a few days ago that I would have some more to say about my conversation with my old friend who sold me my new bike. He a few years younger than me and has two kids are just a little older than my kids here in Bali. Our conversation was pretty wide-ranging as it lasted over several hours, but one of the main themes was the change in Indonesia and Bali over the past twenty years – not an uncommon theme anywhere in the world for people our age. After all, we do tend to look back on the past with at least a tinge of sentimentality. So, what was the main change? The increasing lack of tolerance among many of the religions here and the quickness that some folks have to demonize the other.

We both agreed that generally kids here still have respect for their parents and elders and that they see one of their responsibilities when they become adults as taking care of their parents – that’s something that my kids often bring up.

Life is lovely here.

~ by drbrucepk on June 16, 2009.

3 Responses to “Another Lovely Day in Paradise”

  1. How did you get the YouTube video into the post?? The bike is so cool!

  2. I just pasted the code from the YouTube page in the text. Yeah, the bike is cool. Just have to stay away from animals and other living creatures.

Leave a Reply

 
