When We Do What We Have to Do

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. There has just been so much going on here that I haven’t had much time to myself for myself – reports, meetings, my work on creating PD for some of the staff, and the on-again off-again saga of what I was going to do in terms of staying here for another six months or going home and finally retiring once and for all.

So now things have been finalized in my mind, which is the most important thing. I had to get feedback from everyone involved – wife, kids, friends, and colleagues and then decide what to do. It’s clear to me now that some things may change here, but most probably won’t. The Executive Principal convinced me that I had a role to play here in the changes coming up and some of the possibilities are exciting and will challenge me. My wife convinced me that she would be more comfortable with having more money available for the kids’ university accounts. The kids convinced me that they were not really happy with me staying longer, but were ok with that because they understand about the money for the future. Some of my colleagues are interested in moving the school forward technologically. So after weighing all of the above, I’ve decided to stay until December.

I feel better now that I have mentally locked myself in to a plan for the next six months. I can look at this as another 22 weeks of work with some decent compensation that will put my family in a better position economically.
I’ve also decided that in order to deal with the pressures and frustrations here, I need to have some outlet other than spending my weekends inside the apartment working or watching tv. So I’ve decided to buy a new motorcycle and drive it back here in July after the month break coming up. My old motorbike, a Honda Kharisma, took a lot of beatings over the six years that I’ve owned it. I had three or four accidents here including being hit by a wild boar one night, hitting a dog in the road one morning, and slamming into a massive pothole one night coming home from a party that resulted in the bike flipping over and my flying off the bike and onto the road. My wife sold the Kharisma, and next month I’ll buy a Yamaha Vixion: a 150cc machine with some pretty good stats in terms of power and reliability.

yamaha vixion

yamaha vixion


Having the bike will enable me to get out of the apartment on the weekends and drive down to the beach for a swim on Saturday mornings, as well as take a few drives up along the coast road north and up to Sumbawa Besar for a few of the long weekends that we will have next semester. Just being able to get out and around will be a big change for me – I love driving bikes and just clearing my head on the weekends should make life more bearable for the next semester.

~ by drbrucepk on May 30, 2009.

One Response to “When We Do What We Have to Do”

  1. Congratulations on making a decision. I think the pull between wanting to retire and having a good income source is interesting, more so because you probably make more than most Indonesians around you.
    I am in a situation that is completely different from yours but I can understand the want and need to get out of the house on the weekends.
    Interesting blog.
    Dave

Leave a Reply

 
