The End of a Four-Day Weekend in Sumbawa

I’ve only been back in Sumbawa for a week, but it seems like an eternity. I enjoyed the four-day weekend, but it did make time to drag on and on. That being said, I’ve done quite a bit of work over the break.

super sucks beach in sumbawa

super sucks beach in sumbawa


I’ve edited five movies and uploaded nine to the school website. I did another slideshow for two of the teachers who don’t think that I’m working fast enough. I’ve written two blogs, worked out financial planning for another six months, took a trip to Scar Reef and one to Super Sucks. I’ve had some conversations with a few friends. I tried to dislodge a CD from an iMac (unsuccessfully), and I set up another teacher’s computer and explained how she could get an internet connection. I’ve made a dozen decisions about what I’m going to do in the next week and then reconsidered all of them. I did a term’s worth of planning for math, science and social studies and still have three more classes to plan for. I’ve obsessed about Monday’s medical results until I’m sick of thinking about them. I agreed to speak at a conference on using technology in education in Lombok next month. I agreed tentatively to speak at another conference about the same subject in Malang next month as well. I’ve translated some Indonesian text into English and downloaded new software that I hope will make my life less hectic. I drove past my old house with Stephen several times and watched workmen tearing out the front of the house for the new owners. I’ve gone over my feelings about death and wondered what Updike and Mailer are up to right now.

~ by drbrucepk on April 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
