Back in Kampung Bugis, Part III and the Sea Life of the Bali Sea

Part of a holiday for me is catching up on chores around the house that have been left for me to take care of when I return from Sumbawa. So, yesterday, I began my work.
First, I checked the roof on the third floor because I noticed several leaks. Living on the sea is wonderful for the opportunities to go snorkeling and fishing, as well as just enjoying the views from the balcony of my house, but the downside is that we, and our neighbors usually suffer house damage during the rainy season when we get some very strong winds and rain coming in off the sea. After each rainy season passes, we spend a month or so making repairs to the house. So yesterday, several of my nephews went up on the roof and replace tiles and plastic that had been destroyed during the storms.

Mixed couples that have children always have to be aware of the regulations about their children’s legal status in the country. Now that Indonesia has recognized dual citizenship for mixed children up until the age of 18, this issue is less pressing than in was in the past. Nevertheless, we keep up our children’s American passports and yesterday was time to go through the renewal process for one of the children. Because we live in Singaraja and the American Consulate is in Denpasar, we needed to make the long trip down south to renew Mercedes’ passport.

While we were there, we took a trip to Rimo Mall, a tech center, to purchase a new computer for one of the children. We opted for a desktop because of the price and had one assembled for us. While we were waiting for it to be finished, we had lunch at Pizza Hut, which is just across the street.

Yesterday was the first time that I drove myself to Rimo (I generally avoid driving in the Denpasar area because of the traffic), and I made the trip without incident so I was really quite pleased with myself.

striped catfish

striped catfish


This morning I was back to snorkeling, and I hope that there won’t be any more trips down south until it’s time to go back to Sumbawa. Today’s photo highlights the Striped Catfish, Plotosus lineatus (I think that they are Striped Catfish). I’m basing this classification on the photo on page 264 of the Indo-Pacific Coral Reef Field Guide.

And the anti-work quotation today is:
“But men labor under a mistake. The better part of the man is soon ploughed into the soil for compost. By a seeming fate, commonly called necessity, they are employed, as it says in the old book, laying up treasures which moth and rust will corrupt and thieves break through and steal. It is a fool’s life, as they will find when they get to the end of it, if not before.”
—Henry David Thoreau, Walden, 1854

~ by drbrucepk on March 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
