An Update on a Week in Sumbawa

Time for an update on living in Sumbawa. A lot has happened this week with the inauguration of Barrack Obama as the 44th President of the United States of America. I started writing a blog after watching the inauguration, but I never got around to finishing it. Susan over at her knitting blog had a great post that pretty much sums up some of my views on what many Americans hope will be the future direction of the United States.

I’ve been out doing some social things twice in the past week (about my usual number of outings for a year if I averaged things out over the past five years), so that has been fairly tiring. I’m a very solitary person generally, so going out does push me a bit. I’m looking forward to a relaxing week of being at home every night.

And, I have to say, I have been fascinated with having 24 hour a day internet for a reasonable price and free TV with a multitude of channels. Once I get home from school I just tend to veg out and watch TV and surf the internet. I’ve started to get more focused today and wrote a few school reviews for my new book and did the laundry as well. Tomorrow is ironing day and moping the floors. It’s an exciting life living alone here in townsite.

I’ve also been working on the school website a bit in the evenings so that has taken up some time. And cooking. I have to cook now every night which is something that I haven’t done since my days in Pakistan.

~ by drbrucepk on January 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
