Immigration in Sumbawa Besar

I had to go to Sumbawa Besar today to take care of immigration formalities. We took the seaplane from Benete to Sumbawa Besar. The trip over this part of the island never ceases to amaze me and everyone that does the trip. This is an incredibly beautiful island. We flew over expanses of virgin forests. Sumbawa is still under populated. Eventually this will be another island that enters the main population centers of Indonesia, but I probably won’t be around that long.

I discovered some interesting information today about the state of the immigration department. All the data on expats is indeed online. When my turn came up today, my fingerprints and photo came up from my retirement visa in June. I was impressed.

The immigration office in Sumbawa Besar is one of the more laid back immigration offices that I’ve seen. With the exception of the nine expats from the mining company they had no other business that day. I wish that the Bali immigration offices were more like this place.

~ by drbrucepk on December 7, 2008.

One Response to “Immigration in Sumbawa Besar”

  1. I t looks like January is the busiest season for an “Immigration attorney in the US”. I’m very curious if this is the case with others. I suspect the reason I’m always busy in January is because people are getting their refund checks. All year long I offer payment options, but I just don’t get the same response as January. If you know of other ideas please do not hesitate to contact me

Leave a Reply

 
