Return to Sumbawa

 

I’m posting the next few blogs a few days after they were written since I have no internet access. That has taken some getting used to after five months of uninterrupted access to the internet. Well, in three weeks, I’ll be back home again for a while. So here is what I wrote on Friday.

I arrived today back in Sumbawa. I never thought that I would see the inside of townsite again, but here I am on a mission. The mission – to make some more money for the family. It’s been almost five and a half years since I first arrived here – that time, too, I was a single. But, I was as single living in an apartment with a large bedroom, a small living room/kitchen, and a washer and dryer. This time I am living in a tiny cell with a bathroom attached. No TV, no internet, no cooking facilities. It’s barebones basic.

I was thinking as I moved my briefcase into the room about the apartments that I’ve seen other teachers move into as they start new jobs. In particular, I was thinking about some teachers – a single and a couple who moved to Bangkok this year and posted photos of their places on their blogs. I tried to take a photo of this place but it’s too small to take a photo of. As I was telling a friend, I’ve had five dollar a night hotel rooms in Bali that are three times the size. What have I gotten myself into here.

My suitcase with the clothes, my work, and the toiletries bag is somewhere on the ocean between Lombok and Sumbawa. It should arrive tonight, if it doesn’t I’m going to be a stinky, dirty guy tomorrow.

What else? No ashtray, no glasses, really not much of anything. OK, whine, whine, whinge, whinge. I’m here for a purpose so I will just have to make do with what I have for the time being.

The good thing about arriving was the very warm reception that I received from former students and former colleagues. It’s the good thing about leaving a place on good terms with everyone and returning to a friendly welcome.

It’s been three days since I left my family, and I already miss them. The visa trip kept me fairly occupied so I didn’t have much time to think about anything other than getting my visa and getting a plane ticket back to Sumbawa from Bali.

Tomorrow, Singapore

~ by drbrucepk on November 28, 2008.

One Response to “Return to Sumbawa”

  1. Yes we are pleased to have you back!

Leave a Reply

 
