October in Buleleng, the Children are Growing Up, and Writing in Bali

Hot! Hot! Hot! It’s really hot up here in north Bali these days. Checking my little weather station it says that it’s 91 degrees Fahrenheit with 51% humidity, but it sure feels a lot hotter than that. It may be that I’ve forgotten what really hot is like (think back to Pakistan in June when just walking outside was painful), but everyone that I talk to here keeps mentioning how hot it is. We went out this morning to buy some flowers and plants for the house, and then stopped by at Hardy’s and everyone kept saying, “It’s hot!”

Last night my eldest daughter asked if she could go out to Hardy’s. I asked if she was planning on seeing a boy, and she replied, “How did you know that?” It’s been a long time since I was 17, but I can still remember what it was like – actually quite better than I can remember being 30 for some reason that I can’t really understand right off hand. So, I gave her permission, and she said, “Isn’t it better that I ask than just sneak off and do it?” A less than veiled comment about my 15 year old who has been boy crazy since she was 2 and has a bad habit of sneaking off. So, there’s the lesson for Rebecca; this is how it should be done. Here’s some gas money, be home by 10. Raising teenage daughters is not easy anywhere in the world.

I sold two books today so I’m very happy about that. It had been a week since the last sale, and I do keep track of how sales go. I always appreciate it when someone buys the Bali book. I bought a bottle of scotch to celebrate.

I’m over halfway done on the book on international schools, and there’s something about that one the international teacher blog. I’m really enjoying writing that book even though there isn’t much deep thought necessary in much of the writing. I should be finished with that one by the middle of next month. Then on to the book on Islam which is going to take a long time because of what I want to do with it. I am enjoying writing again after having taken off a few days last week to just get out and clear my head. I need to do that a little more often.

~ by drbrucepk on October 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
