Snorkeling with my daughter and the beauty of the sea

The start of another week in paradise. My second daughter, who is about as much of a stereotypical teenager as you’d want to meet, asked me to go out snorkeling with her this morning. Surprise, surprise, as she usually never wants to do anything with Dad, and has, as I wrote a few months ago, an aversion to going out shopping with me because of the stares we get from some folks who think that she is my girlfriend and not my daughter. So, I was really thrilled to have her want to do something with me, and I took her out to some of my favorite spots in the sea out in front of the house. She loved the areas that I led her to where the coral is regenerating and fish are out in abundance. It was an excellent morning for both of us.

I love water. During my hippie days in Chicago, I loved going out to Lake Michigan for a swim with my collection of freak friends, and, a few years later, when I was a single parent, I enjoyed taking my son out to the beach just south of Fullerton Avenue for a swim during the long summers.

image from wikimedia

image from wikimedia

During my years in California, my son and I would drive down to Santa Cruz for some boogie boarding. The waves were good there and the water relatively warm. I had some great fantasies about moving down there in those days as the waters up in San Francisco were far too cold for swimming.

One of the luckiest things that happened to me when I met my future wife was that she lived on the ocean with her parents. When, a few years later, we built our house in that neighborhood, I had the opportunity to swim in the Bali Sea everyday. I rarely acted on the opportunity though because it seemed that I was always busy then – I regularly used vacation time to write new lesson plans, try out new software, and read up on things that might be useful to me during the next term.

Now that I’m retired and can schedule my time as I want, I’ve been taking advantage of our location and snorkel every day that has clear water. Despite what some folks say, snorkeling is great exercise if you do it right. I do 150 breaststrokes every morning without the use of my legs, and after only a week, the change in my pecs is obvious.

I find snorkeling to be an excellent time for mediation and quiet thought. The reef makes the sea in this area extremely calm most of the year, and it’s possible to drift along watching the fish and the coral and lose yourself in thought. The fish are delightful and, despite the presence of trash floating in from the ocean, the coral is somehow beginning to thrive again. To me, it’s the wonder of nature fighting against the shortsightedness and ignorance of humans. There’s a whole stretch of blue coral just down the beach from us that is alive again and home of hundreds of fish.

Despite my ineptitude with photography, I’ve been searching the internet for inexpensive digital underwater cameras so that I can document the regeneration of the sea here in Kampung Bugis – a good way to spend my mornings, I think.

~ by drbrucepk on August 10, 2008.

2 Responses to “Snorkeling with my daughter and the beauty of the sea”

  1. That looks like a ton of fun! If you get this message tonight or tomorrow (August 11 or 12), make sure you check out the sky at night.

    I think the Perseid Meteor Showers would look amazing over that sea, and I want someone to enjoy it for me! 🙂

  2. Sorry Alex missed the message on time. It is a lot of fun. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

 
