Setting Routines for Life After Work

According to my little counter on the front of cyberbali.com, I’ve been on vacation now for coming on two months. I’m just at the stage where I can make a daily routine. As incredible as it might seem, it has taken us almost two months to finish the move from Sumbawa, the setting up of the houses here, and a week visit by my ex-wife.

Actually, when I think about more closely, we have accomplished a lot over this settling-in period. We enrolled all the kids in schools, set up bank accounts, installed satellite TV and broadband internet, repaired both the rambutan house and the beach house, attended a wedding and a few funerals, took my ex on a number of tours of the island, finally had a chance to spend a few hours with a long-time Bali expat whom I’ve known on the internet for years, started the new look on my cyberbali site, wrote some on the Bali expat book, and caught up with family and friends here in Bali. So it really has been fairly busy. Still, nothing like a routine that I can count on everyday to pace my post-teaching life.

 

kids preparing for school

kids preparing for school

The last few days have been the start of developing a routine. A number of folks that I know who have retired have told me that you need to develop a routine otherwise you tend to get into a drift and that’s where boredom and discontent set in. So, I’ve started. And what is the routine looking like at this point?

 

 

I wake my wife up at 5:30 and she gets up to get the kids ready for school. I get up 30 minutes later to help them finish up getting ready. I take my middle daughter to school on the motorbike while my wife takes my youngest daughter to school on her motorbike. I get home at 7 and check on emails and forums for an hour. At 8, I take out my mask and snorkel and spend an hour snorkeling in the coral in front of the house. At nine, my wife returns home from the market and we have breakfast together. Then, if we need to go to the bank or the supermarket, we do that. Otherwise, I go upstairs and sweep and mop the third floor of the house. After that, I start working on blogs, websites and books. I do this until 1 when the kids are all home from school. I check on homework and how their school day went. If they need help with homework, we do it then or make a plan to do it later in the afternoon.

 

I go back up to the third floor to read for a while and take a nap. Around 3, I get up and write until 5. I go check on the kids to see what they are up to, and then have a beer and watch the sunset.  Sometimes my wife or eldest daughter comes up and watches the sunset with me, at other times I watch it alone while going over what I did for the day. Around 7 I have dinner, sometimes with the family and sometimes by myself depending on the kids schedule – sometimes they have extra lessons in the evening or social engagements. After dinner, I write some more or watch a movie on tv. About midnight, I go to bed.

 

Life is fairly uneventful in comparison with my earlier days, especially the Lahore days during the war in Afghanistan. But, I have a chance to write, think, and be around for the kids when they need me. Plus, I’ve spent more time with my wife over the past few months than I have over the past year. All in all, not a bad life.

~ by drbrucepk on August 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
