A New School Year and the Fallout of Moving

The house is still a mess with the exception of my bedroom/office and my eldest daughter’s room. The difficulties that we are having with finding a place for everything offer a good lesson to the kids about materialism and how much they really have. Sam and Mercedes have both opted to give away all the excess to less fortunate folks around here. The other kids want to have a sale. We’ve decided to do both – give away clothes and toys and sell the huge amount of old magazines, useless computer manuals, and scrap paper. Everyone seems happy with the deal.

While we’re in the midst of cleaning and sorting through what we want or need, school started this week for the kids. Except for Mercedes that meant new schools for the rest of the kids with all the usual trauma and anxiety of starting over again in a new school and making new friends. The kids have weathered the change fairly well so far with the exception of the youngest who is having to get used to a new set of friends and new academic expectations.

The cost for getting the kids in school – building fees, uniforms, books – has been fairly heavy. Only one of the kids is in public school, but her fees are almost the same as the kids going to private school. With all the money that I’ve had to put out, I wonder how everyone else affords this. I just caught a glimpse of an article on rising school fees in Jakarta, and I’ll write more about that in a few days when I finish the post that I’m writing on education in Indonesia.

As for me, I’m just starting to realize that I’m on a permanent vacation, and so far I’ve managed to waste a fair amount of time in addition to the time that I’ve spent on the cleanup. We have a guy in today fixing the cracked floor tiles, so that saves me from doing that. I’m discovering that finding things to do is not going to be a problem.

I’m doing a fair amount of reflecting on what retirement means and how I’ve dealt with living in another culture for so long that still is something of an enigma to me. Time, lots of time to figure it all out.

Bookmark and Share

~ by drbrucepk on July 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
