Life without a Computer

Living without a computer is a drag, especially for someone who makes his living largely on the basis of his IT skills. Not having a computer means no blogging, no podcasting, no testing new software for school, no web page updates, no doing school work at home. I think that you see what I mean. I’ve been tweaking my son’s computer so that I can use it for the next few weeks until vacation starts and I go back to Bali where I have my iMac. I do miss my Mac.

The good part about not having a computer of my own is that I’m reading more, but not writing about the reading. I probably interact more with my family as well, although they are used to me being on the computer and a lot of our interaction has to do with what new things I’m working on. One other good thing – I found an Iomega external dvd drive and burner that I bought about four years ago and used for a few months and then packed away in a drawer because I bought a computer with a built-in dvd drive and burner. I spent the morning scrounging around for the cables and software and, to my surprise, the drive works.

Life in Sekongkang News

I brought my students over to my house in Sekongkang for our annual lunch. We did the usual things: climb up the hill in the back of the house where it’s possible to see all of Sekongkang as well as the ocean; take a walk over to the garden to see the fruit trees; and then play with the animals and have some lunch. This time we had an unexpected treat – we found a 2 meter monitor lizard hiding up in the branches of one of my trees. He just laid there like he was dead. We threw a few branches up at him to see if he was alive, and when we finally hit him, he showed up he was just resting while waiting for some lunch to stroll by.

 

 

~ by drbrucepk on December 3, 2007.

One Response to “Life without a Computer”

  1. […] admin wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptLiving without a computer is a drag, especially for someone who makes his living largely on the basis of his IT skills. Not having a computer means no blogging, no podcasting, no testing new software for school, no web page updates, … […]

Leave a Reply

 
